Toyota PH concludes inaugural Vios Racing Festival, Red Diwa crowned first ever champion

November 13, 2019

Toyota Motor Philippines (TMP) held its 4th leg of the inaugural Vios Racing Festival last November 8 and 9, 2019 at the 4.2 km long Clark International Speedway in Pampanga. This consisted of the 3rd round of the Circuit Championship and the 4th round of the Autocross Challenge, with the former serving as the highlight event of the weekend.

Sporting Class’ Red Diwa of team Growl Thule Racing went home with the title of being the first ever Vios Circuit Champion with his teammate Eggy Ong coming in close in 2nd overall. But it wasn’t an easy win for Diwa as he had to contend with some of the best drivers the one-make racing series has brought out since day 1.

Race 1

And it all started last Friday, November 8 for Race 1 of the action-packed weekend. John Dizon and Marc Soong of team Obengers (representing Toyota Marilao and Toyota Balintawak, respectively) landed 1st and 2nd places, correspondingly. In 3rd came Red Diwa who rounded off the Sporting Class podium.

Down in Promotional Class, Francis Adriano, who represents team Obengers and Toyota San Jose Del Monte, clinched 1st place ahead of Darrel Garbes of team JBT Racing/Toyota San Fernando in 2nd. In 3rd was Obengers/Toyota Otis’ Julian Tang. Meanwhile in Celebrity Class, Troy Montero, Aubrey Miles, and Gretchen Ho crossed the line in that order.

Race 2

The next day, November 9, was the day everyone was waiting for as it’s the final day of the Vios Racing Festival for this year. After all the festivities of the opening program, the racers quickly suited up for what would become a hot 12-lap Race 2. In sporting Class, Lord Seno of Toyota Cebu bagged 1st place, followed by Marc Soong in 2nd and Gel Napat of team Biskeg/Toyota Dagupan in 3rd.

In promotional Class, Francis Adriano and Darrel Garbes made a repeat performance of their Race 1 results. This time, however, Adrianno’s better half and teammate, lady driver Elysse Menorca of team Obengers/Toyota North EDSA managed to secure 3rd. As for the Celebrity Class, the top three finishers were Troy Montero, Aubrey Miles, and Gerald Anderson.

Race 3

Later in the afternoon, all witnessed the action of the 3rd and final race of the season. A bit of drama ensued as Marc Soong and teammate Francis Adriano figured in an accident in turn 1 of the opening lap. Both drivers were unharmed, but the same couldn’t be said for their cars as both machines were deemed not good for racing after the crash.

Most drivers were lucky to avoid the accident, but some came out with some damage on their rides. One of them is Jon Dizon, who would secure 1st place in Sporting Class. Behind him were Red Diwa and Eggy Ong in 2nd and 3rd places, respectively. The end result also meant that Red Diwa mathematically won the coveted championship title against his closest rivals Dizon and Eggy Ong.

In Promotional Class, Julian Teng and Elysse Menorca went home with 1st and 2nd places, respectively, in he bag. On 3rd was Ian Rosales of Toyota Cebu. Lastly in Celebrity Class, Troy Montero made it 3 for 3 by bagging another 1st place win. He was joined on the podium by Daniel Gerald Anderson and Daniel Matusnaga.

Autocross Challenge

Also held in between and after the Circuit Championship races is the 4th and final round of the Autocross Challenge consisting of media, influencers, and drivers from different car clubs.

In Media Class, winners were Anjo Perez (WheelsPH), Jose Altoveros (Autoindustriya), and Raymond Figurres (TopGearPH). IN the Infuencer Class, the top 3 fastest were Vince Vandorpe, Jun Sunga, and Reph Bangsil. Lastly in Car Club Class, the fastest drivers were Carlos Inigo Anton, Sean Kody Ng, and Mickie Carbonell.

Congratulations to all participants of the first Toyota Vios Racing Festival. See you next season.

The 2019 Toyota Vios Racing Festival is made possible by Toyota Motor Philippines, Toyota Gazoo racing, and TRD (Toyota Racing Development), with Bridgestone Philippines and Petron Corporation as official tire provider and fuel partner, respectively. Also making thing happen is Tuason Racing, along with other key sponsors 3M, AVT, Brembo, Denso, Motul, OMP, and Rota Wheels.

Photos: Randolph de Leon

About the Author

Randolph de Leon
Randy is a person with disability (PWD), a partially-blinded person with only his left eye functioning. Since childhood, the automobile has always been his passion, and is able to express it through photography and most recently, through writing as well. Outside the motoring beat, Randy spends time manning the media aspect of his business which he co-founded with his sister/college classmate. It's called Dragonlight Wellness and Solutions, a multi-business venture centering on improving peoples' lives through earning.