These are HARI’s 10 ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes for 2017

August 17, 2017

One for Biodiversity.

Hyundai Asia Resources, Inc. (HARI), through its corporate social responsibility arm, HARI Foundation, Inc. (HFI), celebrated 50 years of ASEAN by honoring the 2017 ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes with the Hyundai Icon for Biodiversity. HARI renews its commitment to protect the environment as it awards the 10 ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes in a ceremony held last August 7, 2017 at the New World Hotel in Manila.

The Korean carmaker’s Philippine distributor, through its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR( arm, HARI Foundation Inc, has partnered with the ASEAN Center for Biodiversity in a bid to help strengthen biodiversity advocacy in the region. By giving the award, the two entities hope to encourage more folks to do their part in saving our environment.

The ten awardees come from the various ASEAN member countries. Each one, though separated by geographic and cultural borders, are bound by the same goal—that of protecting our home. The 10 ASEAN Heroes are:

-       Mr. Eyad Samhan (Brunei Darussalam)

-       Mr. Sophea Chhin (Cambodia)

-       Mr. Alex Waisimon (Indonesia)

-       Mr. Nitsavanh Louangkhot Pravongviengkham (Lao PDR)

-       Prof. Zakri Abdul Hamid (Malaysia)

-       Dr. Maung Maung Kyi (Myanmar)

-       Dr. Angel Alcala (Philippines)

-       Prof Leo Tan Wee Hin (Singapore)

-       Dr. Nonn Panitvong (Thailand)

-       Prof. Dang Huy Huynh (Viet Nam)

Earlier this year, HFI and ACB signed a Memorandum of Cooperation aimed at strengthening efforts to promote biodiversity both within the region and globally. It seeks to increase public awareness about conserving flora and fauna, and help ASEAN member states in their efforts to preserve their biodiversity.

The ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes award is also supported by the ASEAN Secretariat, the Philippine Department of Foreign Affairs, and the European Union.

Photo on above: At the awards ceremony held August 7 at New World Manila Bay Hotel were: (L-R) ASEAN Deputy Secretary General Vongthep Arthakaivalvatee; Eyad Samhan (Brunei Darussalam); Sophea Chhin (Cambodia); Alex Waisimon (Indonesia); Nitsavanh Louangkhot Pravongviengkham (Lao PDR); Prof. Zakri Abdul Hamid (Malaysia); HFI President Ma. Fe Perez-Agudo; HFI Chairman Richard Lee; Dr. Maung Maung Kyi (Myanmar); Dr. Angel C. Alcala (Philippines); Prof. Leo Tan Wee Hin (Singapore); Dr. Nonn Panitvong (Thailand); Dr. Dang Huy Huynh (Vietnam); ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity Executive Director Atty. Roberto Oliva; and EU Climate Change and Environment Counsellor at the EU Delegation to Indonesia Michael Bucki.

About the Author

Mr. Gerard Jude Castillo
Gerard has been a self-confessed car nut ever since he was a little boy. As a grown-up, he indulges in his passion by collecting toy cars (which he started since childhood) and reading up on the latest cars out there.  As Associate Editor, he will ensure that you get your fill of the latest cars in the market, as well as a load of automotive features.