Philippine motoring media takes virtual centre stage at the 20th Henry Ford Awards

March 27, 2021

Ford Philippines has announced the winners of the annual Henry Ford Awards (HFA) in a virtual awarding session attended by over 130 journalists, dealer partners, and Ford executives.

Now on its 20 th milestone year, the HFA continues to recognize excellence and professionalism in Philippine automotive journalism, honoring the work of the country’s esteemed roster of motoring journalists. This year, the HFA has awarded winners from sixteen (16) categories, including the newly-introduced Go Further Changemaker Award which recognized five (5) journalists who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help his or her fellow countrymen at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic last year.

The winners this year were selected from over 200 entries submitted by members of the automotive print, online and broadcast media. “The 20th Henry Ford Awards has become more meaningful this year as we paid tribute to the great work of Filipino motoring journalists who continue to keep the industry alive and their readers informed amid the pandemic. This year’s winners truly raised the bar in delivering automotive news that is timely and relevant to the public,” said EJ Francisco, AVP for Communications, Ford Philippines.

Winners of the 20th Henry Ford Awards

  • Automotive Column - Driving Our Agnes in the Time of COVID - Monsi Serrano for PhilBiz News
  • Automotive Green Feature - This Car Needs No Roads - Ronald Delos Reyes for Daily Tribune
  • Automotive Industry Feature - The Pragmatic SUV - Randy Peregrino for BusinessMirror
  • Automotive Online Feature - Benjamin Dimson: How a Filipino Artist Built a Career Designing Porsches and Mercs - Vince Pornelos for AutoIndustriya
  • Automotive Online Lifestyle Feature - The ABC’s of ABS, EBD, ESP, ETC - Manuel Delos Reyes for 2 nd Opinion
  • Automotive Photograph - Golden Blossoms - Arabelle Jimenez for Motourismo
  • Automotive Print Feature - What Happens When Cheap Oil Meets A Pandemic - Eric Tipan for Manila Bulletin
  • Automotive Print Lifestyle Feature - Anger Management in 2 Hybrids - Teresa Salazar for Philippine Daily Inquirer
  • Automotive Road Safety Feature - How to Properly and Safely Disinfect Your Car Interior - Julian Panlilio for AutoPH
  • Automotive Technology Feature - Do Expiry Dates for Child Restraints Really Matter? - Froilan Bacungan Jr. for VERA Files
  • Automotive Video Feature - Understanding the Mild Hybrid Geely Azkarra - Vince Pornelos for AutoIndustriya
  • Ford Automotive Feature - I Think My Father’s Ford Mustang Died With Him - Vernon Sarne for Visor
  • Ford Automotive Video Feature - Behind the Wheel: 2020 Ford F150 Review - Caco Tirona for AutoDeal
  • Best Automotive Section for Broadsheet - Philippine Daily Inquirer
  • Best Automotive Website - Top Gear Philippines

Go Further Changemaker Awardees

  • One for the Road Initiative - James Deakin
  • Masked Crusader Initiative - Monch Henares
  • I’ll Hold the Line Song Composition - Ardie Lopez
  • Food for the Heroes Initiative - Anjo Perez
  • Toy Run Initiative - Mike Potenciano

Board of Judges

An esteemed panel of judges from the academe, corporate, and creative industries comprised this year’s HFA panel of judges. For the first phase, which evaluated the entries on overall composition, style, and substance, the judges were Dr. Maria Margarita Alvina-Acosta (Dean, Department of Communication, Miriam College), Dr. Arminda Santiago (Professor & Dean, College of Mass Communication, University of the Philippines – Diliman), Dr. Severino Sarmenta (Lecturer, Department of Communication, Ateneo de Manila University) and Dr. Cheryll Soriano (Professor, Department of Communication, De La Salle University – Manila).

On the other hand, the judges for the second phase looked at resonance, relevance and overall impact of the entry to the reading audience. They were Joshua Aquino (Country Lead for Communications, Microsoft Philippines), Owen Cammayo (Vice President and Head of Corporate Affairs, Bank of the Philippine Islands), Ritzi Ronquillo (Chair, Awards Committee for the 2021 Gold Quill Awards, International Association of Business Communicators), and Mervin Wenke (Head of Communications and Public Affairs, Google Philippines).

Finally, the special judges for this year responsible for judging photos, videos, design and layout, content publishing, and website management included Cecile Alcantara (President, Coca-Cola Foundation), Pat Dy (Photographer), Jason Magbanua (Videographer), Dino Ocampo (Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather) and Carlo Ople (Vice President and Head of Marketing Communications, PLDT Home).

About the Author

Randolph de Leon
Randy is a person with disability (PWD), a partially-blinded person with only his left eye functioning. Since childhood, the automobile has always been his passion, and is able to express it through photography and most recently, through writing as well. Outside the motoring beat, Randy spends time manning the media aspect of his business which he co-founded with his sister/college classmate. It's called Dragonlight Wellness and Solutions, a multi-business venture centering on improving peoples' lives through earning.